Zephyr's SharePoint Blog

My Sharepoint world experience notes on day to day basis…..

Rename “My Site” Link Text to “My Something”

Posted by fillzephyr on July 9, 2009


I get a requirement to change the top global links for “My Site”  text to something different  like “My” instead of “My Site”. I had try this method

https://fillzephyr.wordpress.com/2009/06/26/redirecting-or-changing-my-sites-link-name-to-the-new-link-name/

and it works fine but when you access site in extranet zone it will shows “My” externally , which i dont want to.

so i get around this trick :

Go to MySiteLink.ascx located at 

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\web server extensions\12\TEMPLATE\CONTROLTEMPLATES 

Open MySiteLink.ascx modify at two places make the original hyperlink ” invisible” as shown below:

 Backup the MySiteLink.ascx before you do any modification

  < asp:HyperLink id=”hlMySite” runat=”server” Visible=”false” />  

check it after these changes that the My Site link disappear at the top global links.

Then add the following line below it :

< asp:HyperLink id=”NewMySiteHyperlink” runat=”server” Text=”My” Visible=”true” NavigateUrl=”http://mysitewebappurl/_layouts/MySite.aspx&#8221; /> 

Check that it will works.

I test it by deleting My site and recreate it, it works fine for me. Also i check externally and it will not shown up.

Hope it will work for you guys.

Thanks!!!!

2 Responses to “Rename “My Site” Link Text to “My Something””

  1. fillzephyr said

    I feel good at least my blog help someone.
    Thanks

  2. FJ said

    Thanks man! You have no idea how i struggled to find a way of changing a title hanging off my .ascx menu link on my home page. Your example and logic worked perfectly!

Leave a Reply

 
